Living Outloud

Over the last few years…especially the past couple of weeks…I have found myself thinking about two words that in some cases may not make a lot of sense….”Live Outloud”.

What does it mean to live outloud? I think it means for us to live a life that speaks about Christ…a life that writes our funeral when death comes our way…a life that exemplifies Christ in such a way that there is no question where our faith is…a life that leads others to Christ just because they know you.

I thought about this when my mother passed away, when dad passed…and when saints of the faith pass on…even with some who are still with us…those who live life in such a way that you can just see something different about them.

Two lives that ended on this earth recently that have brought this fully around for me are the lives of Caleb Hayes and Rita Oakes…they both lived lives that were evident of the power of the Holy Spirit’s presence.

Both of their lives touched many, and one of the things that stuck with me from both cases was the words that Caleb and “Momma” Oakes “wrote their own funeral.”  These are words that are said when someone has lived out what they believe…when someone has lived OUTLOUD.

I can remember the impact that Mrs. Oakes had in my life over the years I had her as a teacher, and even more so as a part of my life over the past few years…always with a heart for God’s Children, always with a smile, and always with an encouraging word.  She wanted you to feel special, and you did, because she made sure you saw the love of God.

Caleb was much the same, although young, he knew the love of God and wanted to share it with anyone he came in contact with.  He had an infectious smile that just left you feeling the presence of God’s Spirit.  They both lived a life that led others to Christ because you left the conversation feeling as if you had been in contact with Jesus himself…They left you wanting more time with them.

The both embraced the scripture found in 2 Timothy 4:7-8, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith; There is reserved for me in the future the crown of righteousness which the Lord, the righteous judge, will give me on that day, and not only to me, but to all those who have loved His appearing.”

Today, I challenge you to live outloud.  Live each moment as if it were the last moment you might have, and live as if you’re the only light someone may see.  Lead others with your life…live life as loud as you possibly can!

Leave a Reply

