True Love

When I think about true love a couple things come to mind…first is the love that a man and woman share when it comes to marriage. It reminds me of a story that the AP ran in December of 1994 that I once read:

It was a wedding like none he had done before, and when the minister talked about the importance of giving, the bride smiled and groom could not hold back his tears.

The couple, with their patient ID bracelets on, Victoria Ingram and Randall Curlee tied the knot in a hospital chapel.

They were about to enter surgery together and she was set to give a kidney that could save his life. The 45 year-old Ingram believed she was doing nothing more than anyone would.

“If someone was in need, wouldn’t you give your kidney? He’s my pal. It’s our life,” the bride said of her new husband, surrounded by family and friends.

Her kidney likely saving her new husband from blindness, heart or blood vessel damage, and possible circulatory problems in his legs.

This giving love brings me to the second thought that comes to mind:

Jesus gave us more than a kidney. He gave his life for us, and, in doing so, He provided more than life—He gave us a life that is abundant and a life that is eternal. This life He gave we did not earn, nor is it one that we even deserved…yet one He gave freely.

In John 15 we see Jesus address this mindset in verses 12-17:

“This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you. You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you. These things I command you, so that you will love one another. (John 15:12-17 ESV)

This is a command from Jesus, a love that is true. Jesus wishes for us to love each other with a love like He gave us…a love that is true and sacrificial. He tells us to love like He loved us…meaning we would die for one another. Meaning we would die for Him…so where do you stand today? Would you die for the cause of Christ? Would you die for one another?

Today, examine your heart; see if you would love others like Christ. Remember, He chose you…choose Him today!

Leave a Reply

