The Power of a Song

Many of us understand the power of a song.

The emotions one can stir within you; the feeling that a lyric can leave within you; even the struggle that a listener can relate to…no matter what song does it for you, you can name the song and explain fully why it hits you in such a way.

I can name songs that have had that impact on me over the years…each for different reasons.

Some of those songs include:

“Speechless” by Steven Curtis Chapman
“On My Cross” by FFH
“Beautiful, Scandalous Night” by Smalltown Poets
“I Want to be That Man” by Brian Free and Assurance

I could go on and on about songs that have touched my heart and brought me to my knees in worship of our Creator the moment I heard them; songs that have completely said what my heart was saying at that moment and songs that were able to break through my walls to release things that had built up within me.

Recently, “Thy Will” by Hillary Scott became another in a long list of songs that hit me where I was, a song that born out of desperation and despair calls out to the One, True Healer for help in a time of tragedy.

Scott, in a recent interview, revealed that she wrote the song in a difficult time following a miscarriage.  She wrote the song from a moment of heart-break, but in that moment realized the only power she had was to call out to God and say, “Thy Will be Done.” Do you find yourself in moments of life trying to make sense of all the things going on in life? Do you find yourself trying to understand why something may be happening because it doesn’t go with the plans you had?

I found this song reminding me to cry out as Christ did in the garden, praying for God to take the cup of death away if He would, but finally crying out, “Not my will but yours be done.” Jesus knew that the only way to save us would be to complete the task that God had laid out…and we must realize that today.  God has a plan, and while sometimes it may not fit what we deem our plans, it is His plan.  When we realize this, true blessing will follow knowing that we will be taken care of and fully blessed by the moments, no matter how heartbreaking they may be.

Try to change your perspective today…take a moment to realize that God is doing great things within you and for you.  Take a moment to realize that you are a blessed child of God and that there is nothing that can separate you from his love.  The road you’re on may not be an easy one…there may be a bump or two in the way…you may have to struggle up a mountain or through a problem that seems never ending, but remember that right beside you is a savior who thought you were worth dying for.

Leave a Reply

