#OurLivesMatter

This has been one of the harder writings I’ve ever done because a million things have been running through my mind, but also just the concern that the message will not be welcomed by some.  That being said, I also feel it has to be addressed…

We see a new trend in America to talk about what lives matter, the struggle I’m having is that what I see happening is the furthering of a division that we do not need.  I liken it to the body of the Church…in order for us to be most effective in reaching the world, we must be unified…and in order for our country to continue to be what it once was, we must be unified.

#BlackLivesMatter, #BlueLivesMatter, and #AllLivesMatter have flooded our Facebook Newsfeed, we have been bombarded on the news by the constant reminder that there is a division between groups of people; and honestly it seems to be what keeps these groups divided.  I have prayed and studied about this over the past week or so trying to figure out what the message we need to embrace is…and it has left me here…that we need to drop the bickering and fighting and each accept some sense of ownership in what is taking place.

We are all God’s children, we have been offered a gift through His blood that is greater than any gift we could imagine, and we fight because we feel that we are more deserving of it than others? It is not for us to qualify who is worthy of this gift, in fact, scripture tells us that Christ died once for all…and there is no qualifying factor in that statement…All means all.

I have heard all the arguments and discussions over what the BLM group is trying to say, and believe me I understand what they are fighting for.  I have heard the reasons folks want to say All Lives Matter, and honestly, I realize what is happening there too…but what it is doing is dividing us even more when right now what we need is unity.

So, I challenge you…be the example.  Take ownership in a different kind of movement…don’t say This life matters or that life matters…say Our Lives Matter.  Before you dismiss me, please hear me out, I’m not saying that bringing awareness to discrimination is wrong, but by owning it and saying “OUR” we will be saying that yes my life matters, but yours also matters and we are together in this fight to bring justice.

If we can own it and realize we are fighting many of the same battles it might be the first steps in bringing peace that is much needed in this time of turmoil.  Please consider this as you think about the issues we are facing today…please stop promoting the division, and become part of the solution.  Each of us are different, but Christ died for ALL.  His life mattered, and through His blood we can say that Our Lives Matter.

“For as the body is one and has many parts, and all the parts of that body, though many, are one body—so also is Christ.” – 1 Corinthians 12:12 (HCSB)

Leave a Reply

