Running Man Challenge

I’m sure by now many of you reading this have seen the craze that is sweeping the nation called the “Running Man Challenge”. I’m not here to talk about whether or not this is something we should do. What I have realized in seeing all these videos however is this, if we as Christians would approach things like folks have this challenge, the church would grow exponentially.

Why is it that something like the “Running Man Challenge” or the “ALS Water Bucket Challenge” can catch fire like this, yet we are afraid to share the gospel of Jesus Christ in the same way? We are afraid to acknowledge that we know Him and challenge others to accept and acknowledge Him as well. We are worried that if we say that we are a Christian someone will delete us as a friend on social media; or that they will no longer talk with us.

Why have we become so worried about what others think of us when it comes to worldly matters? Why is it that we strive to find acceptance from the very thing that Jesus tells us not to look like? Why is it that we are attempting to change the church instead of letting the Word of God and the Church change us from the inside out? I know there are many other questions we can ask, but they all lead us to one thing…we need, now more than ever, to realize the love of God.

God has called us out of this world to be different…he has asked us to go against the flow…

In John 15:18-25 we see in Christ’s own words how we should view the world: ” If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you. If you were of the world, the world would love you as its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you. Remember the word that I said to you: ‘A servant is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will also persecute you. If they kept my word, they will also keep yours. But all these things they will do to you on account of my name, because they do not know him who sent me. If I had not come and spoken to them, they would not have been guilty of sin, but now they have no excuse for their sin. Whoever hates me hates my Father also. If I had not done among them the works that no one else did, they would not be guilty of sin, but now they have seen and hated both me and my Father. But the word that is written in their Law must be fulfilled: ‘They hated me without a cause.’”

It is for this reason we cannot allow ourselves to give in to the pressures of this world…if we look like the world and live like the world then we will be loved by the world and we are not of God. They will hate you for standing for Christ, they will turn their backs on you and attack you, but Jesus also reminds us a few verses later in John 16:33, “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

I challenge you today to issue a new challenge to others…challenge them to get into the Word of God and to challenge others. Challenge others to separate themselves from this world and to allow God to work through them. Let’s begin spreading the Word of God and sharing His love with everyone rather than sharing a dance craze…doesn’t Jesus deserve to be shared with your family and friends? Or, better yet, don’t they deserve to have Jesus shared with them by someone who loves them?

Leave a Reply

