A Page is Turned (Letter to the Graduates)

This time of the year marks a new chapter in the lives of high school seniors as they graduate and as they move forward.  I can remember when I graduated from high school, the feelings that overwhelmed me as that chapter closed and the feeling that life would not be as it was from that point forward.  There was a noticeable difference for me; a feeling that I’m sure each one will feel as they approach the days ahead.

It brings to mind a song by Bebo Norman called “A Page is Turned”.  The lyrics of the chorus ring in my ears as I think of a new chapter being written: “Where the God of second chance will pick them up and he’ll let them dance through a world that is not kind; and all this time, they’re sharing with the one that holds them up when they come undone; Beneath the storm, beneath the sun, and once again, here you stand, your day has come.”

I love this song because it tells us of a God who offers second chances, or as is the case of a graduating senior, a first chance to get life focused and moving forward in the direction of our dreams.  With this in mind I want to speak to the seniors this week…please make your dreams like those of Christ Jesus.  A few words of advice that I feel will help move us forward in His plan and His vision.

Philippians 2:5-11 tells us how we should be, “Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. (ESV)”

The dream, or better yet, the mindset of Jesus was to be humble. Jesus’ view was that obedience to the will of God was necessary to make it through life. I encourage each of you to examine your life, seek out His will and trust in His plan.

Jeremiah 29:11-14a states, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the Lord. (ESV)”

God promises us a wonderful future.  I am sure that if you talk to anyone who has devoted themselves to the promise that God has made each of us, they will tell you that the walk is not always easy, but the reward is worth each struggle. They will also tell you that there is blessing in allowing God to work and joy and happiness in knowing Him and living for Him.

As you embark on this journey I encourage you to stay strong in your faith.  Grasp your dreams and pursue Christ.  Micah 6:8 states, “He has told you, oh man, what is good; and what does the Lord require from you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God.” That is the only thing God asks of us, to do justice, love kindness, and walk humbly with Him.  Be kind to others, live according to the scripture and be fair one to another; but, most of all, walk humbly with GOD in your life!

Congratulations Graduates! Go out and make a difference for God in your world.  One of the best things I can tell you is this: Remember that you are not a citizen of this world, but merely are passing through.  You have been commissioned to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with those around you, even to the ends of the earth. Listen for the call that God will place in your heart and be strong and courageous as you go forward into this world.

Leave a Reply

