Jeff’s Story

This is a story that I wrote during my junior year at Milligan College for a class in leading worship.  The story you read here is an adaptation of a monologue that I wrote for the class entitled, “Jeff’s Story”. I wanted to share this with you as we have just made it through the Easter holidays, and the celebration of the crucifixion and resurrection of our Savior.

Jeff’s Story – “ Hi, I’m Jeff.  Well, you may wonder what I’m doing here, and sometimes I ask myself that same question.  But I do know why I am here; I am here to share Love.  Why you ask, well, let me tell you a little story of an encounter I had….

I don’t exactly remember when it was, but that isn’t important right now.  I went out on a walk – it must have been around 8 in the evening, maybe 9ish, but I didn’t really look at the clock – I was upset, I had to get away, I left my wife and kids back at the apartment, but I just had to get away.  I did what I had done ten thousand times, I had to go for a walk.  Normally I took my Bible and I went to pray.  It was something I had done often you know, every time that something was bothering me, but this time I had left in such a hurry that I forgot my Bible, but I didn’t want to go back and get it, besides it was just this one time, and I was angry, dejected, and well, I felt as if no one loved me…

But this time, this time there was something different.  I wasn’t sure what it was, but something was different.  This time I didn’t feel alone, and that was strange; every time before I had walked out and felt empty – alone, like no one was there for me – but this time, this time was different – I felt comfort, well for the most part.  And that is when I turned and looked and I knew who was following me, I knew who was walking with me. It was Jesus, He was there – he was there with me!?

He caught up to me, and we walked side by side.  He asked me what was bothering me, and I told him; we talked – I had gone out like this so many times, and never felt his presence, but it was different – I liked it…

And then, that was when I looked around – I was worried – I had been following Jesus, and we were in unfamiliar territory, and I was confused. So I turned to Jesus, and asked him where we were – He said nothing, but I kept following.  He was unusually quiet, I didn’t understand it, I was getting scared, what was going on here?

And then he turned and he broke the silence by asking me, “Hey Jeff, you remember what I said to my followers about MY Commandment?”

I didn’t know what he was asking, I had probably heard the story – I had grown up in church – but intrigued I asked him, “What Lord, What did you say?”

He turned to me and smiled, I was really confused at this moment, but he looked deep in me, He knew what was wrong.  He knew the reason I had left was because I hadn’t felt like anyone loved me, not even him!  And that is when he said, “I told them, ‘Love one another as I have loved you,’ But Jeff, do you know what I said after that?”

I could vaguely remember the story, I felt horrible as I looked at him and said, “No, I’m sorry, no I don’t know.”  I started to cry, I felt as if I had let him down – and that is when He reached up, wiped away my tears…

He wiped them away, and then he said, “Greater Love has no Man then to lay down his life for his Friend.”

This confused me even more, what did he mean?  What was he getting at?  I couldn’t figure it out.  That is when I realized – we were walking up a hill, but it was so dark I couldn’t see what was at the top.  I just couldn’t figure it out, what was Jesus saying?  We just kept walking, he was silent again – I was trying to get him to talk, but he just said nothing, it was so uncomfortable – what was going on here?  That is when we got to the top – and I knew what was going on…

At the top there was a cross, three Nails, and a Crown of Thorns….

Jesus looked at me, and with sadness in his eyes he grabbed the nails and the crown and began walking toward the cross.  Then out of nowhere came Roman Soldiers, and Jesus handed one of them the nails, and placed the crown on his own head, I didn’t understand it – I couldn’t take it anymore, I tried to stop it, I knew what he was doing, but he just laid down on the cross, I just couldn’t bear to watch – I turned away…

I heard the pounding, I kept my face hidden – and then, then the noise stopped, and everything became quiet.  I gathered myself, and looked up…

Through my tears I looked up and he looked down at me – he was smiling through the pain – he just looked down and said to me, ”Jeff, do you still think no one loves you?  I love you Jeff, I am your friend…I love you!!  Remember Jeff, ‘Love each other as I have loved you.’”

​He didn’t say it, but I remembered what he followed that with, only this time it was real.  He followed it with what we know, John 15:13 – “Greater love has no man than to lay down his life for a friend.”  So you want to know what Love is?  To me that’s love – Jesus loves us – He showed us that on the cross, when he spread his arms and said, “I love you this much!””

Do you have a story like Jeff’s? Remember how much you are loved, so much that Jesus spread his arms and said, “I love YOU this much!” But also remember, the resurrection of Christ completed the task, not only did Christ die to save us from our sins, but he now LIVES to give us the victory over the grave, over death, and over Hell!  HE IS RISEN!!

Leave a Reply

