Confidence in Troubled Times

“Lord, how my foes increase! There are many who attack me. Many say about me, ‘There is no help for him in God.’ But You, Lord, are a shield around me, my glory, and the One who lifts up my head. I cry aloud to the Lord, and He answers me from His holy mountain. I lie down and sleep, I wake again because the Lord sustains me. I am not afraid of the thousands of people who have taken their stand against me, on every side. Rise up, Lord! Save me, my God! You strike all my enemies on the cheek, You break the teeth of the wicked. Salvation belongs to the Lord; may Your blessing be on Your people.”  – Psalm 3 (HCSB)

Each day we should begin with a confident and unwavering approach to the day ahead.  As we see in this Psalm of David, God will never abandon us, especially in our times of need.  David was feeling as if the world was against him, and he mentions this in the first few verses.  David states, “Many say about me, ‘There is no help for him in God.’” (v. 2)

David felt pressure, he felt like he was under attack from all sides, even feeling as if his enemies were increasing on a daily basis.  How many times do we feel this way? We feel as if everything in life is going against us and we fail to see what He is doing for us.  We can take a lesson from David in that we can approach things in our lives the way he did in this Psalm.

Our response should be like David’s, “But you, Lord, are a shield around me, my glory, and the One who lifts up my head. I cry aloud to the Lord, and He answers me from His holy mountain.” (v. 3-4)

If we can adapt this into our thinking, we will see a change in attitude and perspective as we go through our days.  When we feel things are against us, when we feel we are being betrayed by those around us, and when we feel that God is far from us, we have to renew our thinking and trust that God is by our side.

Paul also adapted this thinking into his own life and ministry, in 2 Timothy 4:16-18, “At my first defense, no one stood by me, but everyone deserted me.  May it not be counted against them. But the Lord stood with me and strengthened me, so that the proclamation might be fully made through me, and all the Gentiles might hear. So I was rescued from the lion’s mouth. The Lord will rescue me from every evil work and will bring me safely into His heavenly kingdom. To Him be the glory forever and ever! – Amen.”

Today, I encourage you to find the courage deep within yourselves to stand on these truths.  No matter what you are facing today, if you will put your focus into this type of trust, it will amaze you how much easier things will seem to get.  God wants nothing but the best for us, His best, which can become our best if we put all trust in Him.

Sometimes we may wonder why things happen the way that they do and today may not have been an easy one, but these are the days that we can see God working the most.  Take the time to trust Him and thank Him for what he has done for you.  “To God be the Glory, great things He hath done.”

Leave a Reply

