Impact

Something that has been on my mind and heart over the last year and a half is the word Impact. What does it mean? How do we leave one?

Websters defines Impact as a striking together; a collision communicating force. When we think of making an impact, many of us think of people in our lives who have aided us along the way during our lives. We tend to think of people who had that striking force in our lives…I’m sure there are many that each of us can think of.

When I think of my life, I think of Jim Greene and the huge influence that he had over my life. I think of the times that he not only told me of Christ and what He could do in my life, but also showed me through the way that he lived his own life.

I think of Connie Greene and the tender love she had for my sister and I as we grew up. I think of how she always reminded me of God’s love each night as I laid down for bed by saying, “Philippians 1:3”. (I thank my God upon every remembrance of you.)

I remember the way that Debra Buchanan-Hughes showed me the love of Christ in the way that she led 4H and how she always had joy in the way she expressed her love toward the children that were under her care.

I remember my grandparents, my family members, my coaches, and many others who made an impact on me, at times stopping me in my tracks and encouraging me to reconsider my approach, whether it be in life or athletics. I remember each one and the way that they changed my life for the good.

But I must say, no matter how many on earth have impacted my life, none has impacted me greater than Jesus Christ. When I think of impact, the first example that pops into my head is Jesus and how He died on a cross to save me from a life of sin. I think of how He lived his life and pursued perfection on the road that led Him to the cross. I think of how He never responded with retaliation, but always showed the love of God in all He did.

I think of the shame and suffering that He underwent on my behalf.

So how do we make an impact? I think we can best do that by living a life that mimics the One who made an impact that is still being felt over 2,000 years later…Jesus Christ. Our impact can be made by living the words of Paul in Philippians 2:5-11:

“Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus: Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross. Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name: That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”

Lets stop trying to impact others by the way we live, but rather, allow God to impact them through the way we let Christ live through us. That is how we can leave our mark on others today. Tell them how Jesus changed your life and show them how He can impact their lives as well.

Leave a Reply

