How Great Thou Art

Maybe one of the most well known hymns of the Church is “How Great Thou Art.” Many find encouragement in its words and comfort in the soothing music that the hymn is set to. What I want to look at today is the power within the words of this great hymn.

“O Lord my God, When I in awesome wonder, Consider all the worlds Thy Hands have made; I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder, Thy power throughout the universe displayed.

“And when I think, that God, His Son not sparing; Sent Him to die, I scarce can take it in; That on the Cross, my burden gladly bearing, He bled and died to take away my sin.

“When Christ shall come, with shout of acclamation, And take me home, what joy shall fill my heart. Then I shall bow, in humble adoration, And then proclaim: “My God, how great Thou art!”

These three verses truly encompass the feeling of the power and majesty of God. It opens speaking of the same power that Job was reminded when God asked him if he was there when the world was created. This power and glory can be seen just by looking out your window and taking in the beauty of the mountains, or when sitting at the coast looking over the waters. No matter your view, it is the true beauty of Creation.

The next stanza speaks to the power of the blood, reflecting on what took place at Calvary. How many of us could give up a child to save the lives of others, and your only son at that? God gave His only son, that His blood could cleanse us from our sins. Not only a son that was given, but a Son who freely gave of Himself.

We also see power in His return, with a shout of joy, and the power of blended knee. Scripture tells us that every knee will bow, whether believer or not, when Christ returns. This means that everyone knows, but not everyone will be taken home on that day because sadly, for many, that will be what it takes to change their mind.

Each stanza wraps with a chorus that each of us as Christians can rest in, seeing what the power of God can do in our hearts when true worship is realized:

“Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee, How great Thou art, How great Thou art. Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee, How great Thou art, How great Thou art!”

Our soul lets forth a song, exclaiming to God, how great and amazing He is! Wow. The power of God, if fully realized by man, sparks a desire to sing praise and exclaim His power and grace in our lives.

I encourage you today to take this to heart and find it in your heart to realize the awesome power of God before it is too late! He sent His son and washed away your sins because of His love for us, truly leaving our hearts nothing more to say than, “My God, how great You are!”

One response to “How Great Thou Art

  1. Pingback: How Great Thou Art | Christian Music Jukebox

Leave a Reply

